Evaluation

The concept of my project was to explore emotions and to be able to express them through the use of my photographs. I was able to develop my ideas by looking in to photographers that showcase and explore similar ideas.

Before shooting my photos i had to first decide what it is i wanted to show in my photos and where i wanted to take them. My project was able to closely follow my plan which allowed me to successfully achieve the final outcome that i wanted. I believe that my plan may have gone more smoothly when shooting if i was able to use more of my photos from shoot day one with my final photos. Something i came across that i found difficult when shooting was not being able to find a good day to shoot due to weather conditions. Another thing i found difficult was not being able to travel to different locations as much due to covid restrictions when shooting for my first shoot day. However things that were successful when shooting is that i was able to get images for my final photos and i was able to eventually travel to a different location when covid restrictions were eased.

The key research i did for my project was looking into photographers that explored similar ideas to what i was trying to show. For example i looked into a photographer called Wang Rong who is a commercial photographer who explores emotions. Looking at her photos it allowed me to gain a deeper insight to emotions which helped further develop my ideas. I also looked into some pinterest pages that showed me the type of photography i was exploring to again develop my ideas.

When shooting i used my Canon EOS 4000D with a EF-S 18-55MM lll Lens. I also used natural light to my advantage when shooting.

Shoot day 1: On the 29th of April i travelled down to bexhill to take my first shoots. On this day i took some test shots as well as photos i believed would be successful and appropriate to use in my final project. This day was both successful and unsuccessful. I believe the shot was unsuccessful and could’ve been done better due to the fact the models were wearing masks in the photos as it goes against my whole idea of the project of exploring emotions as its covering them up and not allowing us to see any emotions in the photos. However i believe this day was successful as i was able to take photos that i will be using for my final photos.

After day one of shooting i looked into the photos i had taken which helped me discover what i did well and what i can do differently next time. This shoot day allowed me to develop and progress my ideas. It helped me learn to not take photos that have face coverings involved so emotions can be shown and expressed on the model which is the idea i am trying to explore with my photos.

Shoot day 2: On the 20th May i travelled to Addington Park to take the final sets of my photos. On this day i took a few photos and was able to choose three of these photos to use towards my final six photos. I believe that on this day i took some very successful photos that show clear detail and also help add to the theme of my project. In my opinion i believe that none of my photos were unsuccessful due to them all achieving what i want to show overall.

After i had taken all of my photos i gathered all of my photos together and looked in to what photos were my favourite and also showed clear details and emotions to match my theme. I also looked in to what photos i believed were more overpowering and successful compared to the other photos. After doing this i was able to narrow down what photos would be my final photos which left me with three final images. When doing my photos i decided to shoot them all with natural light which allowed them to have the correct exposure. This meant that i didn’t need to edit my photos as i believed they were already well lit. I then put together all the photos to help tell a story. The first photo i selected to present was a photo i believe was the most powerful and the final photo i chose was to spread a message of happy endings and the chance of new beginnings.

Final Photos

Addington Park

Bexhill Stairway Leading to Sea Front

Bexhill Sea Front

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started